eat/drink

French for brunch

“Eat croissants and buttered toast for breakfast–because it’s Saturday morning and you burned enough calories last night, damn it.”

(How to be Parisian, page 186)

La Note in Berkeley, CA.

La Note in Berkeley, CA.

My mouth waters just at the thought of La Note. Brunch at La Note is like visiting your mother in Provence. This charming little spot in downtown Berkeley is decorated like a house in the countryside. I love the bistro chairs, hanging pots and pans, as well as the French artwork on the walls. But the decor isn’t the reason customers line up around the block every weekend–it’s the traditional French fare.

Oatmeal raspberry pancakes at La Not

Oatmeal raspberry pancakes at La Note.

Since I can’t order everything on the menu (although I desperately wish I could), I always get the omelette fromage et jambon (emmenthal cheese and ham omelette, served with the best home fries I’ve ever had and toast) as well as a short stack of Oatmeal Raspberry pancakes, pictured above. Of course, I wash everything down with a few mimosas. In my perfect world, I would be there every weekend. I rarely have a day off, however, so when I have a free morning/afternoon, my first choice is always La Note, which makes every experience there even more special.

La Note is a very small, intimate space. They don’t take reservations for parties less than five people, and the wait to be seated can be 30-40 minutes. I recommend making it a romantic brunch date for deux to get seated as soon as possible.

Standard

3 thoughts on “French for brunch

  1. Shantel B says:

    You gave some pretty good details while managing to keep this post short. I think you summed up this restaurant while still making readers interested. Your pictures really go with the theme of your blog.

    Like

  2. What I love most about this blog is the way it is set up and the way it looks. Everything is quaint and french all around. You writing is very descriptive and you have a way of making the reader feel like they are sitting down at brunch with you chatting over mimosas! Love it!

    Like

Leave a comment